Wednesday, 10 September 2008

MySQL University Session on OpenSolaris Web Stack -- 11 Sep 2008

Tomorrow, there's a particularly interesting MySQL University session coming up: The OpenSolaris Web Stack.



This session is presented by key experts outside the Database Group, but inside Sun:

  • Jyri Virkki, lead for OpenSolaris Web Stack community, Sun Microsystems

  • Murthy Chintalapati, Web Stack development, Sr Engineering Manager, Sun Microsystems




For practical reasons, this session happens three hours later than normal. To decipher that into a timezone which may be familiar to you, this means 9:00 PST / 16:00 UTC / 17:00 GMT / 18:00 CET.

Abstract:
OpenSolaris Web Stack is an OpenSolaris project and community building an integrated stack of popular open source web tier infrastructure technologies such as Apache HTTP server, MySQL, memcached, PHP and Ruby On Rails optimized for Solaris platform. This session introduces OpenSolaris Web Stack, its status and future development including addition of newer technologies such as lighttpd, Varnish etc., as well as the ease of use features for developers and deployers. We will also be discussing an experimental web stack IPS package repository and it could be leveraged to build and make available popular end user applications such as Drupal.

You don't have to register, but it certainly is appreciated if you do so, by filling in your name on the session Wiki page. That Wiki page also contains a section to post questions. Please use it!

Those planning to attend a MySQL University session for the very first time should probably read the instructions for attendees.

Finally, you may want to take a look at the complete list of upcoming University sessions.
Links:

No comments:

Post a Comment