Thursday, 22 September 2005

Florian Müller for "European of the Year"!

Who could believe that a single person can make a difference in European politics?

Well, I could, since otherwise I wouldn't have staunchly supported Florian throughout his campaign against Software Patents. But I have to confess, Florian took us all for a ride I had no clue about in the beginning. And now he is mentioned alongside the likes of Tony Blair, Gerhard Schröder, Angela Merkel, Bono, and Bob Geldof who are also nominated by European Voice for the European of the Year awards.

Florian just issued a press statement, partly quoted below:

In a first reaction, Mueller said that he is "honored by this nomination", but he was quick to share the glory: "I really owe this to all activists and citizens who supported our cause, especially to the FFII (Foundation for a Free Information Infrastructure)". Mueller has previously been listed among the "top 50 most influential people in intellectual property" by Managing Intellectual Property magazine.

Software patent critics are also pleased to see that Michel Rocard, the European Parliament's rapporteur on the software patent directive, has been nominated for the "MEP of the Year" award. On 6 July, an overwhelming majority of MEPs voted 648-32 against the EU Council's proposal for a "directive on the patentability of computer-implemented inventions". Campaigners like Mueller and the FFII were worried that the proposed legislation would have given software patents a much stronger legal status in Europe.

The FFII's Brussels representative, Erik Josefsson, was among the first to congratulate: "I'm extremely proud that Florian Mueller and Michel Rocard have been nominated because they represent countless European citizens who are concerned over software patents. Hopefully many will vote for the two, so that Europe's political leaders fully appreciate the importance of our cause."

Go vote Florian on! I want to see former European Parliament President Pat Cox award Florian to be the European Campaigner of the Year on 29 November at the Palais d'Egmont in Brussels.

Hey, why be modest. Let's go for European of the Year, while we're at it.

1 comment:

  1. [...] As I noted earlier, there is an ongoing election for European of the Year. But there have been hurdles for those who wish to vote. Sure you can vote at, but honestly, do you know whether you would prefer Anna Marszalek of Rzeczpospolita or Alina Mungiu-Pippidi of the Romanian Academic Society to become Journalist of the Year? At least I strongly dislike the risk of voting against my own true opinion, and just in order to vote against Software Patents by voting for Florian Müller, I need to express an opinion in ten different areas. [...]